Book Thieves and Sweatpants

7 Sep

Ever heard of the book Behemoth? Ever heard of Scott Westerfeld? Ever heard of the book Behemoth by Scott Westerfeld? No?!
You suck.
Anyway, I read this great book called Leviathon yesterday, and I decided to grab the second book, Behemoth, this morning at our school library. (I love the library, and the librarians and I know each other quite well.) Well, the book was sitting on the shelf where it was sitting yesterday so I checked it out and was very happy for the whole day. The End.
(Wrong. It was not ‘The End’ and I wasn’t happy for the whole day.)
Let me explain something to you. When I find a good book, I treasure it. I treat it like it’s my best friend. It goes with me everywhere until I finish the book and turn it in. Usually, I finish the book in a single day and turn it in the day after I get it because I read so freaking fast.
Anyway, the Behemoth was a new book. Not just a gently used book, but brand spanking new. Smooth milky white pages…not a single crease in the perfectly flat paper…that new book smell…the unmarked and unscuffed book cover… It was THE PERFECT BOOK!!!
And then in my 7th period gym class, someone stole it.
They.
Stole.
My.
Book.
Gone, without a trace. I was pissed. It was MY book. I was HALFWAY through it! It was so good I couldn’t get it out of my head in class. How would you feel if someone came along and swiped something precious from you? I’m telling you, if I don’t get that book back by the end of 8th period tomorrow, I’m going to rip off someone’s head.
I just don’t get it. Why would someone steal a book from me?? The world is cruel.
And another thing. In my first period class, I felt like I was going to pass out so I went to the nurse and slept in her office for all of homeroom and 2nd period. Turns out that in the one day I miss homeroom, something important gets handed out. That ‘something’ was our new dress code policy. All I know is that there was some crap about sweatpants being prohibited. (However, too many students went to the office and complained about this so the administration took back that rule. Yay.) So, since I don’t know poop about our new dress code, I won’t know how to dress tomorrow and I’m gonna get my butt hauled down to the office.
Great, just great.

What's your opinion?